Dutch FA says Arjen Robben wrongly interpreted on diving claims as FIFA ponders ban.

 

 

 – The Dutch Football Association have refuted reports that Arjen Robben admitted to diving during their World Cup last 16 2-1 win over Mexico saying he was misquoted.

 

The Bayern Munich ace went down theatrically in a number of occasions in the box which resulted in the penalty that saw Holland book a place in the quarter finals after coming from behind to edge out Mexico.

 

The Dutch FA are worried that the influential attacker could be in trouble with FIFA following his claims and are keen to set the record straight.

 

In a statement, the governing body explained: “Media have interpreted statements from Robben in a Dutch post match interview completely wrong.

 

“In a studio interview with Dutch broadcaster NOS, the forward stated that the decision of the referee to give a penalty in the second half of the game was perfectly right. However, in the same interview Robben referred to two situations earlier in the [first half], when he was brought down.

 

“The striker stated that in one of those situations he should have been granted a penalty, but that in the other case he was falling too easily.”

 

FIFA are yet to comment on the matter but a decision will be made within the next 24 hrs and should Robben be suspended, it will be hammer blow to Louis van Gaal’s side who face Costa Rica in the quarter finals.

If you would like to Get email updates of a new Jobs Vacancies,Enter your email address down here :

Note: Activation required. After subscribing, please go to your inbox and click on activation link